SALMONARM

To: His Worship Mayor Harrison and Council

Date: October 3, 2023

Subject: OCP Steering Committee Appointments

MOTION FOR CONSIDERATON:

- THAT: Council approve the amended Official Community Plan (OCP) Bylaw 4000 Review and Rewrite Steering Committee Terms of Reference attached as Appendix 1 to the staff report dated October 3, 2023; and
- AND THAT: Council appoint the following to the OCP Steering Committee as representatives of their respective organizations:
 - Mayor Harrison
 - Councillor.....
 - Bill Laird (Lana Fitt as alternate)
 - Janelle Rimell
 - Jen Bellhouse
 - David Knight (Stan Thiessen as alternate)
 - Shannon Hecker
 - Craig Newnes
 - Tracey Kutscher
 - Sarah Nicolls
 - Teri Meikle

And the following as citizens-at-large:

- •

BACKGROUND:

At the September 5, 2023 Development & Planning Services Committee meeting, the Committee endorsed adding the Mayor to the membership of the OCP Steering Committee (SC). That change to the Terms of Reference has been made and is attached as Appendix 1.

The (amended) Terms of Reference for the OCP SC identify the need to appoint the following to the SC:

Membership:

- Mayor
- One (1) member of Council
- One (1) member from SA Economic Development Society
- One (1) member from Interior Health
- One (1) member from Shuswap Trail Alliance
- One (1) member from Shuswap Recreation Society
- One (1) member from Social Impact Advisory Committee
- One (1) member from Downtown Salmon Arm
- One (1) member from Shuswap District Arts Council
- One (1) member from Salmon Arm and Shuswap Agricultural Association
- One (1) member from SCIP Shuswap Construction Industry Professionals or Realtor
- Six (6) Citizens-At-Large.

The representative groups have made the following nominations:

SAEDS Interior Health Shuswap Trail Alliance Shuswap Recreation Society Social Impact Advisory Committee Downtown Salmon Arm Shuswap District Arts Council Salmon Arm and Shuswap Agricultural Association SCIP Bill Laird (Lana Fitt alternate) Janelle Rimell Jen Bellhouse David Knight Shannon Hecker Craig Newnes Tracey Kutscher Sarah Nicolls Teri Meikle

The SC Terms of Reference states that Council may appoint six (6) citizen-at-large positions. The following nine (9) people have expressed interest in joining the SC.

- Jim Grieve
- Joe Johnson
- John Sawatzky
- Nicolas Harrison

- Howard McMillanCurtis Slingerland
 - Martha Wickett

Julia Beatty

• Mike Melin

Garly Buxton Director of Planning & Community Services

Appendix 1: OCP Steering Committee Terms of Reference (Amended)